A Notification is a message that is sent to a user via the Bell Icon to indicate key events have occurred or are upcoming. Notifications are very useful in helping you keep track of activities that have been assigned to you, events and tasks coming up, and responses to your Chatter messages. When you delegate a Task to another user, they will receive a Notification based on their settings. Notifications are available on both the desktop and mobile app.
Where do I Find Notifications?
Under the Bell icon in the top right of the screen next to the gear icon, you can receive updates that there is an activity assigned to you, an event is upcoming, or you were tagged in a Chatter message. A red number icon will show on the bell to indicate the number of new Notifications available.
Click on the Bell icon to view the new Notifications. You can click on the Notification to go directly to the record indicated, such as a Task assigned to you. You may also see Notifications regarding updates from Salesforce. You can also click Mark all as read to clear the Notification number on the Bell icon.
Where do I Manage Notification Settings?
You can also change your settings for Notifications. Under your Avatar at the top right of the screen, and Settings, you can make updates to your Activity Reminders settings.
Under Calendar & Reminders > Activity Reminders, you can decide whether to show Task reminders, set your default reminder time for the day, whether to show Event reminders and the default reminder time, as well as whether you would prefer to additionally receive an email message when someone assigns you a task. Be sure to Save your changes.